Meet Ellen Huggins

Ellen Huggins is drawn to find the laughter side of things, especially when you ask her about her middle school years.Ellen H (c)zoeknight

What’s your favorite genre to write? Humor.

What’s your idea of perfect happiness? Taking a nap after a shower on a couch with a puppy in December while it’s snowing outside.  

What trait to you most value in yourself? That I’m great at cursive.

What trait to you most value in other writers? Honesty and being unafraid to be real in your work.

What do you do when you’re not putting words on the page? I’m in speech and debate. Tennis. I draw for the school magazine. I’m in Future Business Leaders of Amercia (FBLA) and I take naps a lot.

Which author(s) do you most admire? David Sedaris, John Mulaney.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Like and “murder me alive.”

Favorite word? Cake.

Least favorite word? Slit.

When did you first identify yourself as a writer? When I was in second grade.

Why are you actively involved in Lighthouse Writers Workshop? Because I don’t really get a chance to express myself in my everyday life like I can here.

What is your motto? Zoo – wee – mama!

