Meet Katy McDonald

katy (c)zoeknightKaty McDonald has identified as a writer for so long, she’s not sure when it began, but she knows she loves writing fantasy—and sometimes can’t resist injecting a little humor into it.

What’s your favorite genre to write? Fantasy.

What’s your idea of perfect happiness? Curled up next to a window on a cold rainy day with a cup of hot tea and a book.

What trait do you most value in yourself? Seeing the good in people when others don’t.

What trait do you most value in other writers? The ability to make others feel good and willingness to share.

What do you do when you’re not putting words on the page? Perform on stage, make costumes (sort of), swimming, playing with friends’ younger siblings.

Which author(s) do you most admire? J.K. Rowling.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Thing, magic, maybe.

Favorite word? Pnumonoultramicrscopicsilicovilcanoconosis (joke!) Twisted. Anything with a lot of Ss.

Least favorite word? Like any word that starts with a “silent P.”

When did you first identify yourself as a writer? I think when I was in first grade, but I don’t know.

Why are you actively involved in Lighthouse Writers Workshop? I love spending time with other people who understand this part of me.

What is your motto? I listen to other people, not myself.

