A Love Story: The Beginning, the Middle, and the Never Ending

by Bryanna Vandever

It was all part of the beginning,

The middle of the beginning of the rest of their lives,

The middle of the end of their relationships,

But in the end, it was all part of the beginning

The beginning of their happiness.

The beginning of what they deserved.

Because those two had gone through more crap then most people go through in a lifetime.

I remember the first time she told me he was perfect and I told her that was impossible.

I remember when my mom and her mom and I went the store where they worked

And my only word to describe him afterwards was perfect.

He was six feet of blonde hair, blue eyes,

And a smooth Texas voice that made your skin cry out in goose bumps.

I remember when he finally told her he was single, and she painfully had to tell him “it’s still complicated”.

I remember the night we sat in her car,

Watching the stars, and reading the poetry he was sending her.

I remember meeting him for the first time and thinking that he had to have some type of deep dark secret Because this guy was just too good to be true.

I remember the last time I saw him

And he smiled at me with purest of happiness because he knew it was just the beginning.

I remember when they finally got together and she told me about their first date.

He brought her roses and gave her the stars.

I’ll never forget her mom telling her “he’s so cute”

Because he is.

I’ll never forget how much her face lights up when she talks about him

Or how much he teases her because he’s crazy about her.

I’ll never forget watching the New Mexico sky flash with lightning when I sat in her car for hours

Wishing I could have her life

A life with a love that was true and pure and real.

I’ll never forget where it all started.

In an Albertson’s in a town outside an air force base in the middle of nowhere that no one has ever heard of.

I’ll never forget the few days I spent with them

That convinced me that this was true love and completely meant to be.

I’ll always remember the beginning so I can tell their kids

That I remember the exact moment when the beginning of a possibility

Turned into the beginning of forever.

One comment

Leave a Reply

