[Love Letter]

Dear consistent voice,
You might have not helped me get into the summer writing program at Kenyon*, but, you know what, that’s okay. It’s OK because I’m stuck with you. I know that I will never be without you, and that, no matter how hard I try, you’ll be there. We’re trapped together although we may go everywhere. But it’s always everywhere together. What can I say. You’re my thoughts, my feelings (and) my dreams. I may have ideas separate from you, but that doesn’t matter because my ideas are always thought through you. Like a language. 

Pero, las otras lenguas no son escapas desde ti. Cuando escribo en español, estás aquí también. Tú tienes una voz distintiva, mi maestra de español me dice. Ella no sabe que muchas personas me dicen esta oración. 

You see? It all sounds the same, even in Spanish. I suppose it’s a good thing, though, really. Even if I didn’t get into Kenyon. If I ever write anything and anyone else reads it, it’ll have a watermark. Your watermark. Our watermark. © Madeline Dean. I don’t even need to say it because it’s already there. 

Besides, they say everyone sounds like themselves. Then, they say that I sound especially like myself. Although, I’m not sure that’s true. My stories aren’t (usually) full of. Sentence. Fragments. One. Word. Per. Sentence.

Nor are they full of crazy gimmicks, or exasperatingly sesquipedalian prose. I’m not sure if that second one would help me, but I know the first one would.

No matter. I’m stuck with you. Cool. No matter what I wrote, it sounds like I wrote it. I guess no one’ll accuse me of plagiarism. Except they do. Sigh.

Anyway.

*Editor’s note: Two days after writing this, Madeline learned she was accepted into the summer 2017 Iowa Young Writer’s Studio program. Congratulations, Madeline!

Leave a Reply

